- 5% Lectin Shield Review: Everything You Need to Know

Lectin Shield Review: Everything You Need to Know

Add your review
Add to compare
8
Editor's scoreRead review

Bottom Line: I was pleasantly surprised by this product! The amount of clinical evidence, and that it actually did what it claims, I’m giving Lectin shield a thumbs up.

$52.14 $49.60

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Gundry MD Lectin Shield 120 Capsules - $49.60
Price history
×
Price history for Gundry MD Lectin Shield 120 Capsules
Latest updates:
  • $49.60 - October 21, 2018
  • $52.84 - October 20, 2018
  • $52.88 - October 19, 2018
  • $51.90 - October 19, 2018
  • $51.92 - October 19, 2018
  • $47.50 - October 19, 2018
  • $52.02 - October 19, 2018
  • $52.48 - October 19, 2018
Since: August 7, 2018
  • Highest Price: $81.90 - September 1, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $43.25 - September 15, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: October 21, 2018 1:17 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 1
Lectin Shield Review: Everything You Need to Know
Lectin Shield Review: Everything You Need to Know

$52.14 $49.60

Description

8 Total Score

Bottom Line: I was pleasantly surprised by this product! The amount of clinical evidence, and that it actually did what it claims, I'm giving Lectin shield a thumbs up.

9.1Editor's score
Taste
8
Does it Work
9
Ease of Use
10
Value
9.5
7User's score
Taste
7
Does it Work
8
Ease of Use
6
PROS
  • Comes from well-respected industry doctor
  • May help with digestive or inflammatory conditions
  • Extremely easy to use, no hassle
CONS
  • It's on the higher price end (but it's backed by a 90-day guarantee)
Add your review

I must say I was a bit surprised when I heard about Lectin Shield. Supposedly, all these foods that are considered healthy and good for us are now bad because of the lectin? Lectin is a plant-based protein that is supposedly hard to digest, and we can easily overload ourselves with it. Lectin Shield claims to be able to offset the discomfort associated with lectins in our diet, thereby making it easier to achieve weight loss goals. 

I decided to see what this was all about, giving a try for myself. But beyond taking the supplement, I researched the ingredients, the science behind them, the side effects, and more. What you see here is the compilation of all my findings.

Some of you may find what I have to say a bit shocking.

Gundry MD is the maker of Lectin Shield

The official Gundry MD logo is seen on all his products.

____________

If you’d like to try it for yourself, Lectin Shield can be purchased through Amazon or using their Official Site.

1. What Is It: A Closer Look at Lectin Shield

Dr. Steven Gundry created the herbal supplement Lectin Shield. The formula features 25 superfruit ingredients that are rich in polyphenols. The idea is that by taking it with meals, it can build up in your system to protect against lectin overload in the body, thereby neutralizing the cellular damage.

2. History of the Brand: How Did Lectin Shield Start?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiac surgeon and a highly respected doctor. He founded the Center for Restorative Medicine where he has focused on alternative health treatments. 

With his knowledge of modern medicine and his passion for holistic methods, he has built an entire line of products available at his site. I wasn’t able to determine exactly when the supplements hit the market, but I could determine that he left his position with Loma Linda University Medical Center in 2002 to launch the Center for Restorative Medicine.

Dr. Gundry has authored three books: Dr. Gundry’s Diet Evolution published in 2008, The Plant Paradox: The Hidden Dangers in “Healthy” Foods that Cause Disease and Weight Gain, published in 2017, and he published his latest book, The Plant Paradox Cookbook in April 2018 as a companion to his previous book.

Lectin Shield is a sort of a supplement companion to the books. You don’t need it to succeed with the Plant Paradox program, but it claims to help you if you have a meal that’s heavy on the lectins.

3. Types of products

Lectin Shield is one of many products from Dr. Gundry. The other products he offers include superfood powders, supplements, food, books, and more.

4. Lectin Shield Ingredients
Okra

The health benefits of okra include its ability to improve digestive health and vision, manage diabetes, boost skin health, soothe joint pain, prevent certain cancers, and strengthen bones. It also improves cardiovascular health, balances cholesterol levels, aids the immune system, lowers blood pressure, and protects heart health.

  • N Acetyl D-Glucosamine (300mg) – This naturally occurs in the outer shells of shellfish, but can be made in a lab environment. Don’t confuse it with other forms of glucosamine, as they have different effects on the body. This is used to treat a lot of conditions, but there isn’t enough science to show whether it is an effective option for any of them. It is commonly used to treat dark spots on the skin as a result of aging an sun exposure, as well as treating inflammatory bowel diseases.
  • Bladderwrack (200mg) – This is a type of seaweed, which is not safe to be taken by mouth. It too is used to treat a number of conditions, such as thyroid disorders, joint pain, and obesity, but lacks the science to support it as an effective treatment for any of them.
  • D-Mannose (100mg) – This is a type of sugar that’s related to glucose. Used to prevent urinary tract infections and a metabolic disorder involving a carbohydrate deficiency syndrome, I’m still unsure as to why it is in this formula.
  • Okra Extract (100mg) – This comes from, you guessed it, the vegetable. This low-calorie food is high in vitamins, minerals, and fiber. Some studies have shown it as an effective way to help manage blood sugar in people with gestational diabetes and Type 2 diabetes.
  • Sialic Acid (100mg) – Sialic acids are a family of 9-carbon α-keto acids found predominantly at the nonreducing end of oligosaccharide chains on glycoproteins and glycolipids. 
  • Sodium Alginate (100mg) – This comes from brown seaweeds. It absorbs water quickly and is commonly used in many slimming aid supplements. It is also used as a material for microencapsulation, in reactive dye printing, and in screen printing as a thickener.
  • Vegetable Peptase (50mg) – These are enzymes that come from vegetables that assist with the digestion of food, breaking down molecules into peptides. You can find it in many bodybuilding supplements since it is thought to improve anabolic steroid function.
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (50mg) – Also known as MSM, this chemical can be found in plants, animals, and humans. It is used as a treatment for arthritis and can be made in a lab. It is often combined with other chemics such as glucosamine or chondroitin. It can be taken orally or applied topically, and is used to reduce inflammation. You can find it in small amounts in milk, corn, fruit, coffee, tea, and tomatoes.
  • Larch Arabinogalactans (50mg) – This is a starch like chemical, used to treat various conditions like cold and flue, liver cancer, and more. It is a source of dietary fiber, which means it can help lower cholesterol and support the immune system. It can be used as a stabilizer, binder, and sweetener in foods. It ferments in the intestine to help create a better-balanced microbiome.
5. Where is Lectin Shield Manufactured?

Lectin Shield is manufactured by Gundry MD, who produces a number of other health supplements. We cannot confirm where they are made.

6. Who’s Lectin Shield For?

Lectin Shield is for anyone who wants to improve their digestion, or for those who experience issues after eating foods high in lectins. It is not for anyone who has a shellfish allergy. Speak to a doctor before administering this product to women who are pregnant or nursing, or children.

bean

Beans are among the highest lectin foods

7. How Does Lectin Shield Work?

It works to block the body from absorbing so much of the lectin proteins from the food we eat. While you’re advised to avoid foods that have lectins, such as beans, peas, nightshade vegetables, corn, grains made from wheat, and so on.

Instead, you’re supposed to focus on leafy greens, sweet potatoes, avocado, mushrooms, cruciferous vegetables, garlic, onion, and celery.

Avocados

Avocados are a fruit high in good fats.

8. Does Lectin Shield Work?

They’ve got over 630 positive reviews on their site, and there are tons of people endorsing this product.

As for me, as a regular supplement reviewer, I feel like I could tell a difference after the second week’ish. It definitely helped with going to the bathroom, and I even lost a little weight. (Probably because I wasn’t clogged up anymore!)

9. Lectin Shield Benefits and Results

If you suffer from any inflammation related disease or digestive issues that make life uncomfortable for you, it’s possible you may see some benefit from using Lectin Sheild. Bear in mind, it does take a couple of weeks, kind of like probiotic supplements, to start seeing results, so you should stick with it.

In terms of results, a few say they got none, while many report feeling better and losing some weight as a bonus.

10As far as taste goes…

Because this is a capsule, there is no need to worry about taste.

11. Lectin Shield Side Effects

Because it’s all natural, there are no side effects. All natural doesn’t always mean safe – especially if you’re taking prescription medications that could interact with natural ingredients.

Bladderwrack could worsen thyroid issues because of the high iodine concentrations. It could also slow blood clotting, which is an issue for people with bleeding disorders.

D-Mannose could cause bloating and diarrhea. When used in high doses, it could cause kidney issues. Diabetics may have trouble controlling their blood sugar levels if using this.

MSM is likely safe when used for three months or less. It may cause mild gastrointestinal discomfort.

12. Lectin Shield Product Warnings

Do not use if you are pregnant, nursing, or planning to become pregnant. Do not use if you are allergic to shellfish. Speak to a medical professional if you are using prescription medication to treat any kind of health condition.

13. Any Lectin Shield Lawsuits?

At this time, there doesn’t appear to be any lawsuits against Dr. Gundry or Lectin Shield. His company currently has an A- rating with the BBB.

14. Customer Reviews on the Web: What Users Are Saying

“I’ve been using this for a couple of days in place of another product, Lectin Lock, I’ve used for a year with excellent results.

In just a couple of days of using this product, I have developed unrelenting heartburn, so bad, I was barely able to get any sleep last night. There is only one other Lectin blocking product I’ve tried that caused heartburn, and that one had Pepsin in it, which was the culprit. This one has peptase, and is evidently no better tolerated than Pepsin.

Going back to pepsin/peptide-free Lectin Lock which has worked very well for me. – Therese

“Amazingly I could sense the difference after one meal. I had always known my body was sensitive to any food I ate but not having no reactions to my food is just simply amazing. I had tried other products along the same lines as this one but reacted adversely to one or more of the items it contained (Explorer Genotype supplement). Also, I know this is offered online at a considerably higher price, but since I’m a dedicated Amazon buyer I tried it here first. Hopefully, it will be offered here again because I would definitely purchase more.” – Christine Cheryl Mason

“Did not notice any improvement after 30 days. Will not reorder. – Timothy C.

15. Lectin Shield Competitors

A quick search of Amazon reveals there are several copycat supplements available, such as CompletePlan NutraCeuticals Anti-Lectin, Lectin Lock, and Ultimate Lectin Defense.

16. Would Lectin Shield Work with Your Diet?

Lectin Shield would work with most diets, except Vegan or Vegetarian. Because of the fact that the glucosamine may come from shellfish, we have to err on the side of caution and assume it was not made in a lab.

17. Verdict: Would I Recommend Lectin Shield?

I was pleasantly surprised!

Most of the products we review don’t have a ton of science backing their claims (if any at all), which is why we’re often critical of them. But Based on the amount of clinical evidence–in addition to the fact that Dr. Gundry is a highly respected physician–Lectin Shield seems like a win.

Possibly best of all, if you’re skeptical about trying it out, Gundry MD stands behind Lectin Shield by offering a 90-day money-back guarantee, which is extremely rare for a health supplement company, and that alone tells you a lot about it.  They’re basically saying, “If you’re not experiencing the results you’re seeking after 30, 60, or even 89 days…we’ll give your money back!”  You almost never hear that in the health product industry.

If you’re eager to give it a try, Lectin Shield can be purchased through Amazon or using their Official Site. Give it a couple weeks to kick in, and take note of how you feel!

8
Taste
8
Does It Work
9
Ease of Use
10
Value
9.5
+ Positives:
  • Comes from well-respected industry doctor
  • May help with digestive or inflammatory conditions
  • Extremely easy to use, no hassle
- Negatives:
  • It's on the higher price end (but it's backed by a 90-day guarantee)

Additional information

Specification: Lectin Shield Review: Everything You Need to Know

Type of Consumable

Capsules

Dietary Friendly

Artificial Sweeteners Free, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, High-Calorie, High-Carb, High-Fiber, High-Protein, Lactose-Free, Low-Acid, Low-Calorie, Low-Carb, Low-Fat, Low-Sodium, Low-Sugar, Natural, Nonfat, Sodium-Free, Soy-Free

Price History

Price history for Gundry MD Lectin Shield 120 Capsules
Latest updates:
  • $49.60 - October 21, 2018
  • $52.84 - October 20, 2018
  • $52.88 - October 19, 2018
  • $51.90 - October 19, 2018
  • $51.92 - October 19, 2018
  • $47.50 - October 19, 2018
  • $52.02 - October 19, 2018
  • $52.48 - October 19, 2018
Since: August 7, 2018
  • Highest Price: $81.90 - September 1, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $43.25 - September 15, 2018

Reviews (0)

Reviews

0.0
0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to review “Lectin Shield Review: Everything You Need to Know”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your total score

There are no reviews yet.

Login/Register access is temporary disabled
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0