Flex Belt Review: Will This Really Help You Tighten Your Tummy?

Add your review
Add to compare
6.5
Editor's scoreRead review

Bottom Line: The Flex Belt is a good compliment to your diet and exercise routine. It can be helpful in posture and overall support, but can’t ever replace diet and exercise.

$199.99 $179.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: THE FLEX BELT Ab Belt Workout – FDA Cleared to Tone, Firm and Strengthen the Abdominal Muscles - $179.99
Price history
×
Price history for THE FLEX BELT Ab Belt Workout – FDA Cleared to Tone, Firm and Strengthen the Abdominal Muscles
Latest updates:
  • $179.99 - November 29, 2018
  • $161.00 - November 24, 2018
  • $179.99 - November 9, 2018
  • $275.95 - October 14, 2018
  • $279.00 - October 9, 2018
  • $179.99 - July 6, 2018
Since: July 6, 2018
  • Highest Price: $279.00 - October 9, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $161.00 - November 24, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 8, 2018 3:38 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Flex Belt Review: Will This Really Help You Tighten Your Tummy?
Flex Belt Review: Will This Really Help You Tighten Your Tummy?

$199.99 $179.99

Description

6.5 Total Score

Bottom Line: The Flex Belt is a good compliment to your diet and exercise routine. It can be helpful in posture and overall support, but can't ever replace diet and exercise.

6.5Editor's score
Taste
5
Does it Work
8
Ease of Use
6.5
7User's score
Taste
7
Does it Work
8
Ease of Use
6
PROS
  • EMS is clinically proven.
  • Device is FDA cleared.
  • Money back guarantee
CONS
  • Won't see results if you don't work to get rid of the fat.
  • Belt quality is questionable, as replacements are often needed
  • Money back guarantee doesn't apply to all retailers
Add your review

I’ve seen infomercials for miracle devices since I was a kid, so the idea of the Flex Belt is something I was familiar with. I found it intriguing the product is FDA cleared, so I wanted to give it a try. 

The belt is supposed to be worn around your waist to tone and strengthen your abs. In addition to spending some time wearing the belt while I went about my day, I researched the company, the technology the belt uses, and what other users had to say.

What you see is here is the result of my experiment and my findings. 

Some of you may find what I say a bit surprising…

 

flex belt logo

The official Flex Belt logo

____________

If you’d like to try it for yourself, The Flex Belt can be purchased on Amazon or through their Official Site.

1. What Is It: A Closer Look at The Flex Belt

The Flex Belt is the first ab belt cleared by the FDA for strengthening, toning, and firming the abdominal muscles. It contracts your muscles for you, replacing the need for crunches, situps, and more ab exercises.

FDA approved is a phrase we hear often – but FDA cleared isn’t. What’s the difference? The FDA considers a device “cleared” after the manufacturer submits a 510(k) form that declares it is “substantially equivalent” to a device that is already legally marketed for the same use. 

It doesn’t mean that it is approved or reviewed by the FDA, or any of the claims are substantiated. All it means is that the FDA requirements for placing the device on the U.S. market have been met. 

2. History of the Brand: How Did The Flex Belt Start?

Unfortunately, the official website doesn’t provide any kind of information about the history of the brand. The official website gives us access to their overall brand, Flex Gear, but no company history. All I could figure out was the company is based in Malibu, California.

Abdominal exercise

The Flex Belt claims to replace the need for extensive crunches and other abdominal exercises.

3. Types of products

In addition to the Flex Belt, the company also produces The Flex Mini and The Flex Arms. The Flex Mini “tones, tightens, firms, perks, and lifts the butt, and upper back of the thighs.” The Flex Arms “tones, strengthens and firms both of the biceps and triceps simultaneously”. With the full line of products, you can tighten and tone nearly all major muscle groups.

4. The Flex Belt Ingredients

There are no ingredients to cover in this case, so I’ll tell you what you’ll get when you order directly from the Flex Belt website.

  • The Flex Belt and Gel Pads
  • The Rechargeable Power Supply (can be used with the other Flex products)
  • Belt extension for people with waists larger than 44 inches.
  • Free 30-day access to The Flex Belt Meal Planner.
  • A one-year subscription to your choice of one of the following: Men’s Health, Women’s Health, Esquire, Elle, Travel & Leisure, or Cosmopolitan Magazine.
  • 60-day money back guarantee
5. Where is it manufactured?

I cannot tell where the Flex Belt is manufactured.

6. Who’s The Flex Belt For?

The Flex Belt is for anyone who wants to strengthen their abs. Whether it’s for a flatter tummy or for a better posture and support, it can be useful to both men and women.

7. How Does The Flex Belt Work?
Slim woman

You can measure your waist and examine your midsection for more visible abs to see if the Flex Belt is working.

The Flex Belt uses electrical muscle stimulation (EMS) technology to contract the abdominal muscles much faster and more often than a traditional ab exercise program ever could.

There are several studies that show the benefits and effects of EMS, despite the fact that there are mixed reviews. 

8. Does The Flex Belt Work?

Yes, it works to strengthen the abs. But, if you’re not working to get rid of the layer of fat over those muscles, you won’t see a difference. And if you don’t see the difference, you may have trouble feeling it. That may lead you to believe you’re not getting results.

9. The Flex Belt Benefits and Results

You should feel stronger in your abdominal area within four weeks of regular use. You may not see the muscles as well as you could, depending on your diet and other exercises. It’s best to follow a balanced diet to get the best results.

Six pack abs

It will take more than using The Flex Belt to get a six pack like this one.

10As far as taste goes…

There is no taste to worry about with this one.

11. The Flex Belt Side Effects

You may experience some irritation from the gel pads sticking to your abs. This is necessary to carry the electrical impulse. You may also feel soreness from your muscles being worked. You shouldn’t feel any other discomfort. If so, discontinue use and speak to a doctor and the manufacturer.

12. The Flex Belt Product Warnings

Follow directions included with the Flex Belt. Do not use if you are under the age of 18. If you have any abdominal issues, clear use with a doctor. Do not use more than recommended. Start on a lower level and increase as needed to feel the workout.

13. Any The Flex Belt Lawsuits?

I wasn’t able to find anything specifically against The Flex Belt. There was a suit from the FTC on three of the competing products back in 2002-2003 for misleading claims, though.

14. Customer Reviews on the Web: What Users Are Saying

“I am an elderly woman in my mid 70’s who had lost my good posture and kept building abdominal fat. My brother is using an electronic device which helps reduce his arthritic pain. He recommended this device. He said they truly work. While I do watch my weight, and due to allergies, have few vices, it was obvious I needed help with abs. Two times a day with one day a week off has worked wonders for me. My posture has improved and my lower back pain is 80 – 90% improved in 5 weeks. I still find it hard to believe. Give this a try.” – Jane Anna

“The belt worked fine for a few weeks, but recently the contractions are ending abruptly. I wonder if the controller needs to be replaced? I enjoy using the belt very much, at least I feel like I’m doing SOMETHING for my betterment. But this latest problem is interfering with going thru a complete session. Overall, I’m going on my third belt in seven months. After the first three months started to get little but intense burns. Got a new belt. Then after three months contractions started ending abruptly. With stopping and starting the belt several times, eventually I get the full contraction, but it’s tedious. Getting my third belt since April this year from eBay for two thirds the price. This time I bought the insurance for seven dollars, so I know I’m good for a year no matter what. I’m definitely tighter, but I need to lose more fat to see what I have.” – Frank Lyon

“Easy to wear, charge, and use. I gave 3 stars because I didn’t lose any inches off my waist or strengthen my muscles after two weeks. Maybe it is user error.” – Ranela

15. Flex Belt Competitors

There is certainly no shortage of ab toning products on the market today. Flex Belt competitors include:

  • Ab Coaster
  • Ab Flex
  • Ab Rocket
  • Ab Roller
  • Cardio Twister
  • Contour Ab Belt
  • Malibu Pilates
  • Slendertone
  • Tummy Belt
  • Vibro Belt
  • Abtronic
16. Would the Flex Belt Work with Your Diet?

The beauty of something like the Flex Belt is that it works with any diet you choose to use. No matter what you’re doing to try to lose fat, you can use the belt during your downtime. Of course, if you’re not trying to do anything else to lose the fat on your tummy, it doesn’t matter how tight your abs actually are. You won’t be able to see them!

17. Verdict: Would I Recommend The Flex Belt?

I liked the Flex Belt experience. I know of people who have used the same technology in physical therapy to help them train and retrain muscles. But, honestly, I think it’s a bit overpriced. 

And, if you’re not willing to eat right and exercise in other ways to help get that fat off your midsection, you’ll think the product doesn’t work at all. It’s not a magic bullet that will undo years worth of neglect on your body.

If you want to give it a try, but want to save a buck or two, there are several promotional codes, like this one for 10 percent off, out there so you can try for yourself.

Don’t expect the belt to do all the work for you, and you may be surprised at the results you could get.

The Flex Belt can be purchased on Amazon or through their Official Site.

6.5
Taste
5
Does it Work
7.5
Ease of Use
7.5
Value
7
+ Positives:
  • EMS is clinically proven.
  • Device is FDA cleared.
  • Money back guarantee
- Negatives:
  • Won't see results if you don't work to get rid of the fat.
  • Belt quality is questionable, as replacements are often needed
  • Money back guarantee doesn't apply to all retailers

Additional information

Specification: Flex Belt Review: Will This Really Help You Tighten Your Tummy?

Dietary Friendly

Artificial Sweeteners Free, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, High-Calorie, High-Carb, High-Fiber, High-Protein, Lactose-Free, Low-Acid, Low-Calorie, Low-Carb, Low-Fat, Low-Sodium, Low-Sugar, Natural, Nonfat, Organic, Sodium-Free, Soy-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Price History

Price history for THE FLEX BELT Ab Belt Workout – FDA Cleared to Tone, Firm and Strengthen the Abdominal Muscles
Latest updates:
  • $179.99 - November 29, 2018
  • $161.00 - November 24, 2018
  • $179.99 - November 9, 2018
  • $275.95 - October 14, 2018
  • $279.00 - October 9, 2018
  • $179.99 - July 6, 2018
Since: July 6, 2018
  • Highest Price: $279.00 - October 9, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $161.00 - November 24, 2018

Reviews (0)

Reviews

0.0
0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to review “Flex Belt Review: Will This Really Help You Tighten Your Tummy?”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your total score

There are no reviews yet.

Login/Register access is temporary disabled
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0