GNC Triple Lecithin Review: All You Need To Know Before You Buy

Add your review
Add to compare
6.5
Editor's scoreRead review

Bottom Line: GNC is a well-known company with a full range of products, but Triple Lecithin doesn’t have anything special to make us excited about it.

$7.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: GNC Triple Lecithin 1200 MG, 90 Softgels - $7.99
Price history
×
Price history for GNC Triple Lecithin 1200 MG, 90 Softgels
Latest updates:
  • $7.99 - November 29, 2018
  • $5.59 - November 24, 2018
  • $7.99 - October 6, 2018
Since: October 6, 2018
  • Highest Price: $7.99 - October 6, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $5.59 - November 24, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 6, 2018 11:13 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
GNC Triple Lecithin Review: All You Need To Know Before You Buy
GNC Triple Lecithin Review: All You Need To Know Before You Buy

Description

6.5 Total Score

Bottom Line: GNC is a well-known company with a full range of products, but Triple Lecithin doesn't have anything special to make us excited about it.

6.7Editor's score
Taste
8
Does it Work
2
Ease of Use
10
7User's score
Taste
7
Does it Work
8
Ease of Use
6
PROS
  • Well-known company
  • Easy to use
CONS
  • No real science to support lecithin as effective treatments for any condition
  • GNC has been under fire from several entities over its company history
Add your review

I really enjoy finding new supplements to try so I can share my experience with others. Most of the time, I lean toward weight loss supplements. GNC Triple Lecithin isn’t really one of those, but because lecithin has reports of improving athletic performance, I decided to give it a try anyway.

But taking the supplement for a month or so isn’t really enough to tell you about the product – and my experience might not match yours, so that’s why I take it one step further.

I looked into the ingredients, the science behind them, the GNC company itself, and more. What you see here is the result of my trial experiment and my research findings.

You may be surprised at what I have to say, especially since GNC is such a widely recognized supplement brand.

Gnc logo

The official GNC logo

____________

If you’d like to try it for yourself, GNC Triple Lecithin can be purchased through Amazon or using their Official Site.

1. What Is It: A Closer Look at GNC Triple Lecithin

GNC Triple Lecithin is a store brand lecithin supplement. Lecithin is a fat essential for the cells of the body. You can find it naturally in many foods, including egg yolks and soybeans.

Egg yolk

Egg yolk is a good source of lecithin

Lecithin is used as medicine and in the manufacturing of medicine. It’s used to treat memory disorders, liver disease, gallbladder disease, some types of depression, high cholesterol, anxiety, and eczema. 

2. History of the Brand: How Did GNC Triple Lecithin Start?

GNC, General Nutrition Centers, is headquartered in Pittsburgh, PA. The company was initially founded in 1935 with a single store and now has more than 4,800 retail locations. They operate in 46 international markets. That said, I couldn’t determine exactly when they added Triple Lecithin to their branded product line.

3. Types of products

GNC has a full range of products. Many are their own private label brand. They also carry many popular brands of products, too. You’ll find everything from basic vitamins and minerals, to protein shakes, a full array of pre and post workout supplements, and more.

GNC store

This is what you could expect to see on the shelves in a GNC store.

 

4. GNC Triple Lecithin Ingredients
soy lecithin granules

These are soy lecithin granules.

GNC Triple Lecithin contains:

  • High Choline Lecithin (1200mg) 
  • Phosphatidyl Choline (as Soy Lecithin, 420mg) 
5. Where is it manufactured?

GNC products are manufactured at Nutra, a supplement manufacturer based in Greenville, South Carolina, USA. The plant can manufacture more than 13 billion capsules, softgels, and caplets every year.

6. Who’s GNC Triple Lecithin For?

GNC Triple Lecithin is for adults who want to protect their heart, liver, and central nervous system health. It may also help improve athletic performance.

7. How Does GNC Triple Lecithin Work?

The body converts lecithin into acetylcholine, which is a substance that transmits nerve impulses. Also known as a neurotransmitter, this is one of the most abundant in the human body. You can find it in both the central nervous system and the peripheral nervous system.

Acetylcholine works in the peripheral nervous system as a major part of the autonomic nervous system to activate muscles. It also controls a number of functions in the sympathetic and parasympathetic systems.

In the central nervous system, it moves between various neurons in the brain in the areas controlling arousal, motivation, and attention.

8. Does GNC Triple Lecithin Work?

There is no science that shows lecithin as an effective treatment for anything. Right now, it is considered possibly ineffective for gallbladder disease, and likely ineffective for dementia.

There is insufficient evidence to show it as an effective treatment for athletic performance, movement disorders, dry skin, high cholesterol, stress and anxiety, manic-depressive disorder, sleep, and other conditions. More research needs to be done to determine how well it could work for any of these conditions.

9. GNC Triple Lecithin Benefits and Results

The main benefits are advertised to be promoting a healthy heart, liver, and nervous system. While some people say they get great results with this supplement, others say they don’t feel any different when they take it.

10As far as taste goes…

This is a capsule so you shouldn’t have any issues with taste. 

11. GNC Triple Lecithin Side Effects

Lecithin is considered likely safe for most people. It may cause some side effects such as abdominal pain, diarrhea, and nausea. It may also promote feelings of fullness.

Though there are reports of women who use this supplement to prevent clogged milk ducts during breastfeeding, not enough is known about the use of lecithin during pregnancy and breastfeeding. It’s best to avoid use until you’ve discussed it with your doctor or obstetrician.

12. GNC Triple Lecithin Product Warnings

This product is for adults only. Consult physician if pregnant/nursing, taking medication, or have a medical condition. Keep out of reach of children.

13. Any GNC Triple Lecithin Lawsuits?

There are no lawsuits specifically referencing this product. But, it’s worth mentioning GNC has been subject to class action lawsuits. One, filed in August 2016, and stayed in September 2017 while settlement terms are agreed upon, involved “for allegedly misleadingly marketing the existence, nature, and amount of discounts of items sold on its website by comparing a “Sales Price” to a “Regular Price” that was artificial and not the prevailing market price within the three months immediately before the advertisement, as required by California law.”

They’ve also been in trouble with the FDA, six states, the FTC, and even the United States Post Office. It’s a lot to cover if I list everything, but you can get all the details from Truth in Advertising if you’re interested. 

14. Customer Reviews on the Web: What Users Are Saying

“Well, honestly I have questions in my own mind about this product. It was the cause of a persistent rash that subsided when I stopped taking the product. I am not allergic to soy. Something in this product caused this annoying rash which makes me question the purity of the product. Capsules had leaked within the bottle. I threw the rest out.” – Slim

“I had mastitis 3 times with my first son and stopped breastfeeding at 4 months because of clogged ducts. This time around I have been taking these pills 1-2 times a day and have not had mastitis at all in 6 1/2 months! If I feel a clogged duct coming on (usually because I forgot to take them), I just take 1 extra and it seems to clear itself within 12 hrs and no extra effort. I highly recommend these to prevent clogged ducts!” – Stephanie

“Excellent quality. It has been enhancing my brain function and my memory.” – Ray

15. GNC Triple Lecithin Competitors

Any company that makes a lecithin supplement is a competitor. Brands include: 

  • Now Sunflower Lecithin
  • Now Lecithin
  • Natural Nutra Soy Lecithin
  • Swanson Sunflower Lecithin
16. Would GNC Triple Lecithin Work with Your Diet?
GNC Triple Lecithin supplement facts

The GNC Triple Lecithin label shows you exactly what you’ll find in the capsule.

This product would NOT work with the following diets:

  • Vegetarian
  • Vegan
  • Non-fat

17. Verdict: Would I Recommend GNC Triple Lecithin?

Normally, I wouldn’t have an issue recommending something like this, because it seems like it’d be a good thing to supplement with. My issue is that not only is there no real connection to weight loss, but that there isn’t enough science to show it as an effective option for much of anything.

I’m glad to see women are able to clear clogged milk ducts when breastfeeding, but I’m also worried about it in the sense that we don’t really know enough about it to know if it’s really safe for breastfeeding mothers.

If you’d still like to try this product, there are several promotional codes, like this one for 15 percent off, out there so you can try for yourself.

My advice? Skip this one in favor of one with a bit more science behind it – and opt for something that’s specifically a weight loss supplement.

GNC Triple Lecithin can be purchased through Amazon or using their Official Site.

6.5
Taste
7.5
Does it Work
6
Ease of Use
9
Value
7
+ Positives:
  • Well-known company
  • Easy to use
- Negatives:
  • No real science to support lecithin as effective treatments for any condition
  • GNC has been under fire from several entities over its company history

Additional information

Specification: GNC Triple Lecithin Review: All You Need To Know Before You Buy

Dietary Friendly

Artificial Sweeteners Free, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, High-Calorie, High-Carb, High-Fiber, High-Protein, Lactose-Free, Low-Acid, Low-Calorie, Low-Carb, Low-Fat, Low-Sodium, Low-Sugar, Natural, Sodium-Free, Soy-Free

Type of Consumable

Capsules

Price History

Price history for GNC Triple Lecithin 1200 MG, 90 Softgels
Latest updates:
  • $7.99 - November 29, 2018
  • $5.59 - November 24, 2018
  • $7.99 - October 6, 2018
Since: October 6, 2018
  • Highest Price: $7.99 - October 6, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $5.59 - November 24, 2018

Reviews (0)

Reviews

0.0
0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to review “GNC Triple Lecithin Review: All You Need To Know Before You Buy”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your total score

There are no reviews yet.

Login/Register access is temporary disabled
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0